Back to all news
Written by:
Kathryn Martin-Chambers
18 Oct 2019

Image (l-r): Ingrid Schroder, Dr Adam Lebovitz and Professor Alison Liebling

On Tuesday 15 October we welcomed seven academics as new members of the Trinity Hall Fellowship.

Ingrid Schroder and Dr Marcus Tomalin join Trinity Hall as Staff Fellows. Ingrid is Director of Studies in Architecture. Her ongoing research examines the architecture and urbanism of liberation from the American Revolutionary period through the late 20th century. Marcus is Director of Admissions, responsible for managing the undergraduate admissions process and leading initiatives to encourage applications from under-represented demographic groups. He will also take responsibility for postgraduate admissions.

Dr Adam Lebovitz has taken up the position of WYNG Research Fellow in Political Theory and Philosophy. Adam’s research interests revolve around questions of popular sovereignty, constitutional design, and Enlightenment political thought. Future projects will deal with the revolutionary origins of human rights, concepts of “free speech” in the 18th and 19th centuries, and the history and theory of the state of exception.

Professor Alison Liebling, former Trinity Hall Fellow, is rejoining the College as a Fellow-Commoner. Alison is Professor of Criminology and Criminal Justice and Director of the Prisons Research Centre. Her main interests lie in the changing shape and effects of imprisonment; the role of values in criminal justice; and in the role of safety, trust and fairness in shaping the prison experience.

Professor Ruth Schilling specialises in Curation and joins Trinity Hall as a Visiting Fellow for the academic year 2019/20.

The Rt Hon Lord (Angus) Glennie and The Rt Hon The Lord (Norman) Fowler have both been appointed Honorary Fellows.

Lord Glennie studied History at the College and was called to the Bar in 1974. In 1992 he became and qualified as an advocate in Scotland and thereafter practised at the Bar both in Edinburgh and London. He took Silk in Scotland in 1998 and was appointed a judge in Scotland in 2005. He was appointed to the Inner House in 2016 and subsequently sworn in as a member of the Privy Council.

Lord Fowler studied Economics and Law at Trinity Hall and worked as a journalist before being elected to Parliament for the Nottingham South constituency in 1970, then Sutton Coldfield in 1974. He held numerous roles in government before being elected Lord Speaker of the House of Lords in 2016.

Dr Marcus Tomalin, Professor Ruth Schilling, The Rt Hon Lord (Angus) Glennie and The Rt Hon The Lord (Norman) Fowler

(l-r) Dr Marcus Tomalin, Professor Ruth Schilling, The Rt Hon Lord (Angus) Glennie and The Rt Hon The Lord (Norman) Fowler