Nine new Fellows join Trinity Hall

This academic year we welcome nine new Fellows to Trinity Hall. Alongside our five new research and teaching Fellows, we are delighted to welcome Sarah Bates (1977), Janet Legrand, QC (Hon) (1977), Dr Cornelia Parker, OBE and Professor Sir John Pethica (1971) as Honorary Fellows.

Dr Anya Burgon, Dr Simon Corkery, Dr Anton Enright, Dr Emma Kast,, Dr Marcel Satchell composite image

L-r above: Dr Anya Burgon, Dr Simon Corkery, Dr Anton Enright, Dr Emma Kast, Dr Marcel Satchell

Dr Anya Burgon (2009) studied History of Art at Trinity Hall as an undergraduate and postgraduate. She returns to College as Schulman Research Fellow in History of Art to explore the role of imagination, aesthetic experience, and the ’poetic’ in the intellectual culture of the high and later Middle Ages in northern Europe.

Dr Simon Corkery is our Walter Grant Scott Research Fellow in Engineering. Hailing from New Zealand, Simon has been working as an aerodynamicist for the Emirates Team New Zealand sailing team, the current America’s Cup defenders. At Trinity Hall, Simon’s research will focus on aerodynamics, including flow separation and sensor systems.

Dr Anton Enright joins Trinity Hall as Staff Fellow in Pathology and Director of Studies in Natural Sciences (Biological). His research interests encompass detecting, predicting and describing the functions of genes, proteins and regulatory non-coding RNAs, as well as their interactions in living organisms and their implications for disease.

Dr Emma Kast, Research Fellow in Geography, Geology and Geophysics, is researching the relationship between ocean biogeochemistry and Earth’s surface environment, including climate variability, over Earth’s history.

Dr Marcel Satchell (1989) is a Fellow-Commoner and Director of Studies in Physics. He has a long-standing relationship with Trinity Hall as he studied Materials Science at College as an undergraduate and has been supervising students across Cambridge since 1995.

It is a pleasure to welcome Sarah Bates (1977), Janet Legrand, QC (Hon) (1977), Dr Cornelia Parker, OBE and Professor Sir John Pethica (1971) as Honorary Fellows.

Sarah Bates, Janet Legrand, Dr Cornelia Parker, Professor Sir John Pethica
L-r: Sarah Bates, Janet Legrand, Dr Cornelia Parker, Professor Sir John Pethica

Sarah Bates (1977) is currently Chair of the John Lewis Partnership Trust for Pensions, Polar Capital Technology Trust and The Diversity Project Charity. She is a Non-Executive Director of the Worldwide Healthcare Trust and is a member of the Investment Committees of the USS and the BBC Pension Schemes and the National Heritage Memorial Fund. She is also a mentor through Chairmen Mentors International. Sarah has a long and distinguished career in the savings and investment sector and in the voluntary sector. She was an investment analyst, investment manager and then CEO of an institutional asset management business in the UK. She has also been a director and Chair of organisations ranging from a small youth project in south Islington to a FTSE 100 company (St James’s Place), and including the Association of Investment Companies, Merian Global Investors and the investment committees of the Cancer Research Campaign Pension fund and St Joseph’s Hospice. She is a co-Founder of The Diversity Project which is seeking to improve diversity and inclusion on many measures across the savings sector.

Sarah graduated from Trinity Hall in 1980 with a BA in Law (Part 1 Philosophy) and has an MBA (technically an MSc) from the London Business School. She is a Fellow of CFA UK.

Janet Legrand (1977) is the former Senior Partner and Chair of the Board of DLA Piper, a global law firm, where she combined 20 years of senior leadership roles with substantial client mandates, latterly representing Governments in international disputes. Beyond the law, Janet is Senior Lay Member of Court at the University of Edinburgh and Chair of The Children’s Society, a major children’s charity. On her appointment as Queen’s Counsel Honoris Causa, the Lord Chancellor described her as, “…a pioneer in enhancing the role of women in the law, promoting social mobility, diversity and inclusion within her firm and the wider profession…”

Former roles include Deputy Chair of Council at City, University of London, Deputy Chair of the Marshall Aid Commemoration Commission and Audit Committee member at the University of Cambridge.

Dr Cornelia Parker is well known for her large scale, often site specific, installations. Her engagement with the fragility of existence and the transformation of matter is exemplified in two key works: Dark Matter, a cartoon-like reconstruction of an exploded army shed, and Heart of Darkness, the formal arrangement of charred remains from a forest fire. There is an apocalyptic tone to much of her work but she also demonstrates a concern with the more insidious effects of global warming and consumerism. She works in a variety of mediums and has collaborated with institutions such as HM Customs & Excise, Royal Armouries, Madame Tussauds and Victoria & Albert Museum, London. She was nominated for the Turner Prize in 1997. She was appointed an Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in 2010.

She was commissioned by Trinity Hall to create a tapestry, inspired by her work ‘30 pieces of silver’, to re-establish the tradition of having an arras hung in the Dining Hall. The threads of the tapestry incorporate a piece of College silver and the tapestry depicts a selection of the College’s most significant silver pieces, including the Founder’s Cup.

Professor Sir John Pethica (1971) is known for his work on nanoscale mechanics. He invented the technique of nano-indentation for measuring mechanical properties at extremely small scales. This is now used worldwide in both basic research and across the thin films and coatings industries. He introduced the concepts of forces acting in tunnel microscopy, which led to the atomic force microscope, very widely used for high resolution surface and atom imaging.

Sir John worked in industry in Switzerland and founded and directed successful technology companies in the USA. He was professor at Oxford till 2001. He then moved to Trinity College Dublin where he founded the CRANN nanoscience centre and Naughton Institute. He was Chief Science Advisor at the National Physical Laboratory, Teddington from 2007 to 2017, and Physical Secretary and Vice-President of the Royal Society from 2009 to 2014.