THA Committee

Roger McKinlay


Roger McKinlay (1979)

Roger read Engineering and has spent his career working as an engineer in aerospace and defence.  He currently works as a consultant and non-executive director. He is married, has three children and lives in Surrey.

Dr Chris AngusSecretary

Dr Chris Angus (1967)

Chris read Engineering and joined ICL to work on computer-aided design. He undertook a part-time PhD at Newcastle combining computer science and chemical engineering. Until his retirement in 2013, Chris worked in software design and has been involved in two start-up companies and several patents. He is a member of General Synod, Lay Chair of the Diocese of Carlisle and a member of Bishop’s Council. Chris lives in Cumbria, is married and has one daughter.

Roy Warden

Finance Officer

Roy Warden (1973)

Roy (on the right in the photograph) read history at Trinity Hall from 1973 to 1976. He worked in tax administration for 40 years in the Inland Revenue, Treasury and HM Revenue and Customs, qualifying as an accountant during his career. He left HMRC in September 2016 to pursue a range of activities.

Bob ElyEmeritus member

Bob Ely (1950)

Bob read French, Russian and Swedish at Trinity Hall and used Spanish, German and Swahili in his work! He has four children born on three different continents and four grandchildren all born in England. Bob worked in personnel and government relations world wide and lived in Kenya, Nigeria, Trinidad and Chile. He has worked for many years in caring, Parish Council, PCC and Deanery Synod. Loves cricket.

Committee members

Jonathan Cornwell (1992)

Jonathan came to Trinity Hall in 1992 to read Economics having previously studied French and Spanish at UCL. He has worked in book publishing in London, Paris and Madrid, for internet companies and on government education projects in the Middle East and China. He now runs conferences and art exhibitions and is director of a conference series at Jesus College, Cambridge, which brings together government, industry and the media to discuss vital issues of the day with expert academics. He has two children and lives in Cambridge and London.

Emily Floeck (2007)

Emily came to Trinity Hall in 2007. Her PhD in History addressed the evolution of economic interdependence between the United States and China. She served on the MCR Committee.  Since 2015 she has been leading media relations in Central and Southern Europe for the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation.

David Lock (2006)

Andrew Lennon (1999)

Andrew came to Trinity Hall as a graduate student, where he did research on structural mechanics for his PhD in the Engineering Department. He works as a consulting engineer, solving problems in engineering mechanics and analysis. He lives in Cambridge and is married with two sons.

Anne Wolff (1979)

Anne arrived at Trinity Hall in 1979 to study Economics as an undergraduate. Her career has been in finance, banking and venture capital, fourteen years of which were spent overseas.  She served on the board of Cambridge in America during the 800 Year Anniversary fundraising campaign and hosted Trinity Hall alumni events in Seattle for several years.

Michael Womack (1966)

List of former THA Presidents +-
2014-2017 Mr C Hayes
2011-2014 Dr N Chancellor
2006–2011 Ms S Webbe
2003–2006 Mr D S Avery
2001–2003 Mr A T Grieve CBE
1999–2001 The Rt Hon the Lord Phillips of Sudbury OBE
1998–1999 The Hon Sir Anthony Colman
1997–1998 Sir David Innes Williams FRCS
1996–1997 Sir Derek Thomas KCMG
1995–1996 Mr E H Greenfield OBE
1994–1995 Mr G Ross Russell
1993–1994 Sir Mark Tully KBE
1992–1993 The Lord Oxburgh of Liverpool KBE FRS
1991–1992 Dr Graham Storey OBE LittD
1990–1991 Professor Sir Robert Honeycombe DSc FRS FEng
1989–1990 The Rt Hon the Lord Nicholls of Birkenhead PC QC LLD
1988–1989 Sir John Lyons LittD FBA (Master)
1987–1988 The Rt Hon the Lord Fowler PC
1986–1987 The Hon Sir Iain McCullough
1985–1986 Dr S Wylie
1984–1985 Sir Donald Tebbit GCMG
1983–1984 The Rt Revd the Lord Runcie MC PC
1982–1983 Mr S E Abbott OBE (Bursar 59–77)
1981–1982 Sir Morris Sugden
1980–1981 Professor W A Deer FRS
1979–1980 The Rt Hon The Lord Oliver of Aylmerton PC LLD
1978–1979 The Rt Hon Sir Robert Megarry PC LLD FBA
1977–1978 Rt Hon Lord Howe of Aberavon CH PC QC
1976–1977 The Rt Revd the Lord Runcie MC PC
1975–1976 J B M Coates Esq
1974–1975 The Rt Hon Sir Robert Megarry PC LLD FBA
1973–1974 Dr T C Thomas
1972–1973 The Lord Morris of Borth-y-Gest
1971–1972 Mr B E A Crutchley CBE
1970–1971 The Hon Sir Daniel Brabin
1969–1970 Mr H L Elvin
1967–1969 The Revd Professor W O Chadwick OM KBE DD DLitt FBA
1966–1967 Dr T Ellis Lewis
1965–1966 The Rt Hon Sir Jocelyn Simon
1964–1965 Sir Edgar Stephens CBE
1963–1964 J G Strangman Esq QC
1962–1963 The Hon Sir Raymond Hinchcliffe
1961–1962 K P D Thomas Esq
1960–1961 Sir Ivor Jennings KBE QC LittD FBA
1959–1960 W J T Turton Esq OBE
1958–1959 Dr L C G Clarke LLD
1957–1958 Mr T Cannon-Brookes
1956–1957 The Bishop of Portsmouth
1955–1956 Mr C W Crawley (Vice-Master)
1954–1955 Professor H R Dean MD
1953–1954 Sir Patrick Ashley-Cooper
1951–1953 Sir Thomas Strangman QC
1950–1951 Sir Edgar Waterlow Bt
1949–1950 Dr O H Wansrough-Jones CB OBE
1948–1949 Sir John Morris KCB CBE MC
1947–1948 Sir Roland Burrows KC
1939–1947 The Revd G A Chase MC
1938–1939 R F Bayford OBE KC
1937–1938 Judge H C S Dumas
1936–1937 Sir Travers Humphreys
1935–1936 Professor H R Dean MD (Master)
1934–1935 The Rt Hon S M Bruce CH MC PC
1933–1934 Henry Bond LLD
1932–1933 H F Manisty KC
1931–1932 Sir Edward Brooksbank Bt
1930–1931 The Rt Hon Mr Justice Maugham
1929–1930 Professor H R Dean MD (Master)

Connect with Trinity Hall