[Skip to main content]


Masters of Trinity Hall

A list of the Masters of Trinity Hall since its foundation in 1350:

1350-1354Robert de Stretton (Stratton)
DCL by 1352; papal notary by 1379; died in 1392.
1355-1384Adam Walker or Wickmer
Canon of St Paul's, 1363; and of Chichester, 1371.
Died by 1386
1384-1413Robert Branch or Braunch
Canon of Chichester, 1390; died 1436
1413-1429?Henry Wells
Resigned in or soon before 1429; died 1431
1429-1443Marmaduke Lumley
Bishop of Carlisle, 1430-1449; and of Lincoln, 1450.
Lord High Treasurer of England, 1446-1449; Chancellor of the University of Cambridge 1427-28; died 16 Dec 1450
1443-1453Simon Dalling
Died after 1453.
1453-1471Simon Thornham
DCL 1463; died by 1472.
1471-1501William Dalling
Died 1501
1502-1503Edward Shouldham
DCL 1469; Canon of Lincoln, 1488; died 1503.
1503-1505? Vacancy
1505-1512John Wright (Wryght)
Resigned 1512; sometime Rector of Clothall (Herts); died
1512-1517/18Walter Huke (Hewke)
DCnL 1495; sometime Rector of Holywell (Hunts); died 1517/1518.
1520 or earlier -1525Thomas Larke
Formerly Surveyor of Building Work for King's College Chapel. Resigned 1525; died 1530.
1525-1551Stephen Gardiner
Bishop of Winchester, 1531-1551 and 1553-1555;
Secretary of State, 1528-1531; Lord Chancellor,
1553-1555. Elected Chancellor of the University of
Cambridge, 1539 and 1553.
Ejected as Master of Trinity Hall before Feb 1552;
restored, 1553; died 12 Nov 1555.
1552 (Feb-Oct)Walter Haddon
Left to become President of Magdalen, Oxford, Oct 1552; died 1571.
1552-1553William Mowse
From Oct 1552; removed, 1553; restored 1555; resigned probably before 1559; died 1588.
1553-1555Stephen Gardiner (again)
1555-1559?William Mowse (again)
1559-1585Henry Harvey
Died 1585.
1585-1598Thomas Preston
Died 1598.
1598-1611John Cowell
Died 1611.
1611-1626Clement Corbett
Died 1652.
1626-1645Thomas Eden
Died 1645.
1645Robert King
Oct 1645 - resigned before admission owing to objections from the House of Commons; re-elected, 1660, died 1676.
1646-1660John Bond
Died 1676.
1660-1676Robert King (again)
1676-1688Sir Thomas Exton
Sometime Admiralty Judge; elected three times as MP for the University of Cambridge; died 1688.
1688-1703George Oxenden
Died 1703.
1703-1710George Bramston
Died 1710.
1710-1735Sir Nathanael Lloyd
Benefactor of the College. Resigned 1735; died 1741.
1735-1764Sir Edward Simpson
Died 1764.
1764-1803Sir James Marriott
Died 1803.
1803-1815Sir William Wynne
Died 1815.
1815-1843Thomas Le Blanc
Judge of the King's Bench, 1799; died 1843
1843-1852Sir Herbert Jenner-Fust
Died 1852.
1852-1877Thomas Charles Geldart
Regius Professor of Civil Law, 1814-1847; died 1877.
1877-1888Sir Henry James Sumner Maine
Regius Professor of Civil Law, 1847-88; died 1888.
1888-1902Henry Latham
Benefactor of the College; died 1902.
1902-1916Edward Anthony Beck
Died 1916.
1919-1929Henry Bond LLD
Resigned 1929; died 1938.
1929-1954Henry Roy Dean MD
Professor of Pathology, 1922-1961. Retired 1954, died 1961.
1955-1965Sir William Ivor Jennings KBE QC LittD
Downing Professor of the Laws of England, 1963-1965. Died 1965.
1966-1975William Alexander Deer FRS
Elected Professor of Mineralogy, 1951; resigned 1975.
1976-1984Sir (Theodore) Morris Sugden CBE ScD FRS
Formerly Chief Executive, Shell Research; died 1984.
1985-2000Sir John Lyons LittD FBA
Formerly Professor of Linguistics & Pro-Vice-Chancellor, University of Sussex; retired 2000.
2000-2004Peter Clarke LittD FBA
Professor of Modern British History 1991-2004;
resigned 2004.
2004-2014Martin Daunton LittD FBA
Professor of Economic History, 1997-
2014The Revd Dr Jeremy Morris MA DPhil FRHistS


Sourced mainly from Crawley, Trinity Hall: The History of a Cambridge College 1350-1975.

Gift Shop

Mugs, pens and more

Buy Trinity Hall gifts

Take Trinity Hall with you wherever you go, from China mugs to pens and notecards.

Shop now!

Garden Journal

The promise of spring

The promise of spring

Support Trinity Hall

Trinity Hall relies on the generosity of its members past and present for its continued development.

Make a gift: Donate online now

[Go back to the top of the page]